A Little Less Talk

At this point, I have been sufficiently oriented to find my way out of the Catskills post-Irene. Park guiding? Check. Big Sistering? Check-check. Kaplan tutoring? Check mate.

These orientations have so far positioned me only for dashed hopes. The park guiding fell by the wayside when my partner’s work schedule shifted, my little sister is reluctant to meet up, and the start of my new job next week more or less ensures that I will be unable to commit to the 6-8 pm tutoring schedule that would have enabled me to nudge two or three underprivileged teenagers toward SAT triumph.

This has not diminished my sign-up rate for further orientations; rather, it has increased the pace as I scramble to fill my fall schedule while allowing for flexibility to meet demands of my new job as they arise.

All of this makes for a lot of PowerPoints and little action, but rest assured, I will draw blood from these stones and offer up some more stories shortly.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Can’t wait to hear more stories!

Leave a Reply

