We Are Who We Are

On my way to meet yet another scummy broker Sunday, I happened upon this sign while scanning the brownstones on W. 11th for indications of available real estate within. It reminded me of something the camera would cut to in a Love Actually-type movie, and for a second, my mind was filled with the possibilities if everyone took a moment to read to an elderly man going blind in a nursing home or stopped by to bring flowers to a young woman alone in the hospital, her family far away, instead of viewing volunteering as a waste of precious free time and those who do it sanctimonious fools.

Then, my Pandora picked up a Ke$ha (yes, $) song, and I was transported back to the real world.

Leave a Reply

